Lee Hazlewood - Cowboy and The Lady (LP)


In 1969 Lee Hazlewood's personal record label LHI Records was flush with major label cash and Lee wanted to make Ann-Margret his next big star. In the quest for a hit, the pair recorded fuzzed out acid rock ("It's A Nice World To Visit (But Not To Live In)," "You Turned My Head Around"), orchestral pop ("Sleep in the Grass" & "Chico") and a genuine country album cut in Nashville. LITA is proud to continue it's Lee Hazlewood archival series with an expanded reissue of Lee & Ann-Margret's The Cowboy & The Lady. The album is Hazlewood's truest country album and a perfect example of the genre hopping he was afforded at LHI with unlimited creative freedom and money to burn. Recorded over a weekend in Nashville with the help of Charlie McCoy and some Nashville session musicians.

A whirlwind year of learjet promo tours, magazine photo shoots, television specials and cutting records for LHI wasn't able to bring the success that Lee and Ann-Margret pushed for. A second LHI album with Ann-Margret was planned but never recorded. Within a year of making the trip to Nashville, Lee would be living in Sweden full-time and Ann-Margret would focus on her acting career for the better part of a decade. Nothing exemplifies Lee's "throw it against the wall and see if it sticks" record production of the LHI era like his work with Ann-Margret. Though it didn't stick, and it didn't sell, Lee's adventure with Ann-Margret is an extravagant tangent that has since grown a cult following.


Tracklist :
1. Am I That Easy To Forget?
2. Only Mama That'll Walk The Line
3. Greyhound Bus Depot
4. Walk Out Of My Mind
5. Hangin' On
6. Victims Of The Night
7. Break My Mind
8. You Can't Imagine 
9. Sweet Thing
10. No Regrets
11. Dark End Of The Street

Signup for Awesome

Enter your email address for stock alerts, discounts, promotions and more!